The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett

Tweet Addition: Audiobook Genre: Fantasy Rating: 4 out of 5 Synopsis: A shivering of worlds. Deep in the Chalk, something is stirring. The owls and the foxes can sense it, and Tiffany Aching feels it in her boots. An old enemy is gathering strength. This […]

Share on Facebook

2014 Reading: #14 Terry Pratchett’s Raising Steam

Tweet Book number 14 for me in 2014 was Terry Pratchett’s Raising Steam, which is the 40th book in his Discworld series. I have read all 40 of these books and enjoyed each one of them. A large part of me is tempted to start […]

Share on Facebook

A Few Favourite Things…

Tweet I saw these questions over at The Diary of a Domestic Goddess, and thought I would answer them too! 1. Who is your all-time favourite author, and why? My favourite all time author is Roald Dahl. I love his books. They gave me hours […]

Share on Facebook

Waiting on Wednesday!

Tweet Waiting on Wednesday – or WoW – is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The book I am waiting for is: Terry Pratchett: I Shall Wear Midnight Synopsis: A man with no eyes. No eyes at all. Two tunnels in […]

Share on Facebook

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett

Tweet Addition: Audiobook Rating: 3/5 Synopsis: “Arch-swindler Moist Van Lipwig never believed his confidence crimes were hanging offenses – until he found himself with a noose tightly around his neck, dropping through a trapdoor, and falling into…a government job?” “By all rights, Moist should have […]

Share on Facebook

A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett

Tweet Synopsis: The Heroine: Tiffany Aching, incipient witch and cheese maker extraordinaire. Once saved world from Queen of the Elves. Is about to discover that battling evil monarchs is child’s play compared to mortal combat with a Hiver (see below). At eleven years old, is […]

Share on Facebook

Monstrous Regiment by Terry Pratchett

Tweet Synopsis: Polly becomes Private Oliver Perks, who is on a quest to find her older brother, who’s recently MIA in one of the innumerable wars the tiny nation of Borogravia has a habit of starting with its neighbors. This peevish tendency has all but […]

Share on Facebook

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Tweet Synopsis: Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of […]

Share on Facebook

The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett

Tweet Synopsis: “Another world is colliding with this one,” said the toad. “All the monsters are coming back.””Why?” said Tiffany. “There’s no one to stop them. There was silence for a moment. Then Tiffany said, “There’s me.” Armed only with a frying pan and her […]

Share on Facebook

Thief of Time by Terry Pratchett

Tweet Synopsis: Time is a resource. Everyone knows it has to be managed. And on the Discworld that is the job of the Monks of History, who store it and pump it from the places where it’s wasted (like the underwater – how much time […]

Share on Facebook