Going Postal by Terry Pratchett

2 Comments

Addition: Audiobook Rating: 3/5 Synopsis: “Arch-swindler Moist Van Lipwig never believed his confidence crimes were hanging offenses – until he found himself with a noose tightly around his neck, dropping through a trapdoor, and falling into…a government job?” “By all rights, Moist should have met his maker. Instead, it’s Lord Vetinari, supreme ruler of Ankh-Morpork, […]

A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett

2 Comments

Synopsis: The Heroine: Tiffany Aching, incipient witch and cheese maker extraordinaire. Once saved world from Queen of the Elves. Is about to discover that battling evil monarchs is child’s play compared to mortal combat with a Hiver (see below). At eleven years old, is boldest heroine ever to have confronted the Forces of Darkness while […]

Monstrous Regiment by Terry Pratchett

0 Comments

Synopsis: Polly becomes Private Oliver Perks, who is on a quest to find her older brother, who’s recently MIA in one of the innumerable wars the tiny nation of Borogravia has a habit of starting with its neighbors. This peevish tendency has all but expended Borogravia’s ranks of cannon fodder. Whether Sergeant Jackrum knows her […]

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

4 Comments

Synopsis: Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. […]

The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett

2 Comments

Synopsis: “Another world is colliding with this one,” said the toad. “All the monsters are coming back.””Why?” said Tiffany. “There’s no one to stop them. There was silence for a moment. Then Tiffany said, “There’s me.” Armed only with a frying pan and her common sense, Tiffany Aching, a young witch-to-be, is all that stands […]