2015 Reading: #10 Roald Dahl’s Matilda

0 Comments

2015 Reading Number 10 – Matilda by Roald Dahl Synopsis: Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she’s just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a kid-hating terror of a headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers […]

About a Boy by Nick Hornby

0 Comments

Addition: Hardback, library book Genre: Fiction Rating: 4/5 Synopsis: Will is thirty-six, comfortable and child-free. And he’s discovered a brilliant new way of meeting women – through single-parent groups. Marcus is twelve and a little bit nerdish: he’s got the kind of mother who made him listen to Joni Mitchell rather than Nirvana. Perhaps they […]

Randolph’s One Bedroom Review and Interview with Andrew Oberg!

0 Comments

As promised: the interview with author Andrew Oberg and the review of his superb book Randolph’s One Bedroom. Interview: 1.       Tell us a bit about yourself I’m originally from the state of Minnesota in the U.S., but have been living in Japan since 2001 (with a short break in 2003). I teach at two universities […]

A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett

2 Comments

Synopsis: The Heroine: Tiffany Aching, incipient witch and cheese maker extraordinaire. Once saved world from Queen of the Elves. Is about to discover that battling evil monarchs is child’s play compared to mortal combat with a Hiver (see below). At eleven years old, is boldest heroine ever to have confronted the Forces of Darkness while […]

The Mermaid’s Mirror by L. K. Madigan and Romance Challenge Update

2 Comments

Review Does Contain Spoilers! Synopsis: Lena has lived her whole life near the beach—walking for miles up and down the shore and breathing the salty air, swimming in the cold water, and watching the surfers rule the waves—the problem is, she’s spent her whole life just watching. As her sixteenth birthday approaches, Lena vows she […]

Monstrous Regiment by Terry Pratchett

0 Comments

Synopsis: Polly becomes Private Oliver Perks, who is on a quest to find her older brother, who’s recently MIA in one of the innumerable wars the tiny nation of Borogravia has a habit of starting with its neighbors. This peevish tendency has all but expended Borogravia’s ranks of cannon fodder. Whether Sergeant Jackrum knows her […]

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

4 Comments

Synopsis: Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. […]