Waterstones Synopsis:

A lost child: On the eve of the First World War, a little girl is found abandoned on a ship to Australia. A mysterious woman called the Authoress had promised to look after her – but has disappeared without a trace. A terrible secret: On the night of her twenty-first birthday, Nell Andrews learns a secret that will change her life forever. Decades later, she embarks upon a search for the truth that leads her to the windswept Cornish coast and the strange and beautiful Blackhurst Manor, once owned by the aristocratic Mountrachet family.A mysterious inheritance: On Nell’s death, her granddaughter, Cassandra, comes into an unexpected inheritance. Cliff Cottage and its forgotten garden are notorious amongst the Cornish locals for the secrets they hold – secrets about the doomed Mountrachet family and their ward Eliza Makepeace, a writer of dark Victorian fairytales. It is here that Cassandra will finally uncover the truth about the family, and solve the century-old mystery of a little girl lost.

This is a large book – over 600 pages, and to be honest, I was daunted by the size of it. However, I shouldn’t have been. The story flew off the page and the book read very quickly. There was adventure, life changing events, fear and destruction. There was also friendship, love and great fairytales.

There is not one main character in the book. The book spans a century and we get to know Nell, Cassandra and the Mountrachet family members well. The book does jump between time eras and events but it follows a stream of consciousness – by that I mean that when Nell or Cassandra discovers something about the past we then jump back in time and read what actually occurred. It is through this that we learn so much about the individuals featured in the book. I didn’t struggle with the time changes at all. As long as you note the year at the beginning of the chapter you are fine and it is easy to follow and keep up.

I loved the storyline. I loved how it was written so you kept discovering new things, and I enjoyed reading about London at the beginning of the 20th century, and how the upper classes lived. This is a historical novel, and I don’t think it was badly or inaccurately written. Nothing notably wrong jumped out at me; and reading the acknowledgements at the end suggests that Morton did research this well.

I found this book gripping and a great read. Once I got past the size of the book I loved it and only have praise for it. I have loaned my copy to my Mum I enjoyed it so much and she too is currently enjoying it. Morton is a gripping writer. She wrote characters I liked, set the scene wonderfully and wrote a story I was interested in and wanted to know what happened. I can only give this the top rating. A superb book.

5/5

Share on Facebook

2016 Reading:

Goodreads Challenge:

Aim: 50

Read: 27

JANUARY

1.C. S. Lewis: The Magician’s Nephew. 4 January. 4 out of 5.

2. Jojo Moyes: After You. 5 January. 2 out of 5.

3. Paula Hawkins: The Girl On The Train. 13 January. 3 out of 5.

4. Sarah Dessen: Saint Anything. 29 January. 4 out of 5.

FEBRUARY

5. Richard Castle: Naked Heat. 2 February. 3 out of 5.

6. Alaa Al Aswany: The Automobile Club of Egypt. 16 February. 3 out of 5.

7. Robert Galbraith: Career of Evil. 23 February. 4 out of 5.

8. C.S. Lewis: The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe. 28 February. 5 out of 5.

MARCH

9. Kate Morton: The Lake House. 17 March. 5 out of 5.

10. Jenny Colgan: The Little Shop of Happy Ever After. 29 March. 4 out of 5.

11. Michael Bond: A Bear Called Paddington. 30 March. 3 out of 5.

APRIL

12. Lucinda Riley: The Italian Girl. 19 April. 4 out of 5.

13. Philippa Gregory: The Queen’s Fool. 26 April. 4 out of 5.

14. Dorothy Koomson: The Flavours of Love. 27 April. 3 out of 5.

MAY

15. Harriet Evans: I Remember You. 6 May. 3 out of 5.

16. Lucy Diamond: A Baby at the Beach Cafe. 6 May. 3 out of 5.

17. Tracy Chevalier: The Last Runaway. 13 May. 4 out of 5.

18. Cecelia Ahern: The Marble Collector. 18 May. 3 out of 5.

19. Hilary Boyd: Thursdays in the Park. 21 May. 3 out of 5.

JUNE

20. M.C. Beaton: Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener. 2 June. 3 out of 5.

21. P. D. James: Death Comes to Pemberley. 6 June. 3 out of 5.

22. C. S. Lewis: The Horse and His Boy. 10 June. 3 out of 5.

23. Agatha Christie: Murder on the Orient Express. 11 June. 3 out of 5.

24. M.C. Beaton: Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley. 16 June. 3 out of 5.

25. Rainbow Rowell: Eleanor & Park. 22 June. 3 out of 5.

JULY

26. Santa Montefiore: The Forget-Me-Not Sonata. 1 July. 2 out of 5.

27. Philippa Gregory: The Virgin’s Lover. 11 July. 4 out of 5.

 

Mount TBR Challenge

  1. Lucinda Riley: The Italian Girl
  2. Philippa Gregory: The Queen’s Fool
  3. Harriet Evans: I Remember You
  4. Tracy Chevalier: The Last Runaway
  5. Hilary Boyd: Thursdays in the Park
  6. P. D. James: Death Comes to Pemberley
  7. Rainbow Rowell: Eleanor & Park

 

 

Secret Seven Challenge

1. Secret Seven. 2 January 2014.
2. Secret Seven Adventure. 6 January 2014.
3. Well Done, Secret Seven. 14 January 2014.
4. Secret Seven on the Trail. 31 March 2014.
5. Go Ahead, Secret Seven. 29 June 2014.

Roald Dahl Challenge

1. Esio Trot. 6 January 2015.
2. Matilda. 24 February 2015.


Chronicles of Narnia Challenge

  1. The Magician’s Nephew. 4 January 2016
  2. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. 28 February 2016
  3. The Horse and His Boy. 10 June 2016
Share on Facebook


Addition: Paperback
Genre: Chick-lit
Rating: 3 out of 5
Synopsis:

Venice, 1681. Glassblowing is the lifeblood of the Republic, and Venetian mirrors are more precious than gold. Jealously guarded by the murderous Council of Ten, the glassblowers of Murano are virtually imprisoned on their island in the lagoon. But the greatest of the artists, Corradino Manin, sells his methods and his soul to the Sun King, Louis XIV of France, to protect his secret daughter. In the present day his descendant, Leonora Manin, leaves an unhappy life in London to begin a new one as a glassblower in Venice. As she finds new life and love in her adoptive city, her fate becomes inextricably linked with that of her ancestor and the treacherous secrets of his life begin to come to light.

This is book number four off my Mount TBR List. This book has been sitting on my shelf for ages, and when I discovered by husband’s Nan used to be a glassblower, I was even more eager to read it. However, this book wasn’t really what I expected.

The story is set in both the 1600s and the present day. Normally, I like novels which jump between time periods – novels written by the likes of Rachel Hore or Kate Morton. Yet, this story just didn’t grip me like the stories from those two authors do.

The story follows the Manin family – Leonora in the present day and Corradino in the 1600s. Both are glassblowers, and both are very talented. Yet Corradino sells his secrets to France to save his daughter, and Leonora, running away from a disappointing life in London, seeks to find out about her family history and to clear Corradino’s name.

As I write this, I find myself wondering what exactly about the book I didn’t really enjoy, and I’m not sure. I didn’t really like any of the characters, which isn’t always a problem for me if I find the story enjoyable. Yet I found the storyline a bit boring. There could have been more of a sense of danger in Corradino’s time, but there wasn’t. I knew The Ten were a force to not be messed with, but I didn’t feel fearful of them. As for Leonora, I found her a bit annoying. She seemed to be seeking validation – from her work, from her possible boyfriend and from her family legacy. I guess I didn’t really warm to her so her neediness annoyed me instead of making me root for her.

I’m rating this book 3 out of 5, which is a sign I didn’t hate it! I have been fairly negative about this novel so far, but I read it to the end and I did want to know what happened to Corradino. This novel is essentially a love story, which a historical mystery woven into it. This isn’t the worst book I have read this year. It didn’t take long to read, and I whatever I thought about the writing or the characters, I did want to know what was going to happen. This wasn’t what I expected, and it wasn’t as good as I had hoped it would be; however, it was an alright read.

Share on Facebook


Addition: E-book
Genre: Chick-lit, historical fiction
Rating: 3 out of 5
Synopsis:

Ashcombe was the most beautiful house Saskia had ever seen as a little girl. A rambling pink cottage on the edge of the Suffolk village of Melbury Green, its enchanting garden provided a fairy-tale playground of seclusion, a perfect sanctuary to hide from the tragedy which shattered her childhood.

Now an adult, Saskia is still living at Ashcombe and as a book restorer devotes her days tending to the broken, battered books that find their way to her, daydreaming about the people who had once turned their pages. When she discovers a notebook carefully concealed in an old Bible – and realising someone has gone to a great deal of trouble to hide a story of their own – Saskia finds herself drawn into a heart-rending tale of wartime love…

As you may know, I love Erica James novels! There are only a couple I haven’t read, and I am hoping to read them soon (as well as all the other books I own and haven’t read yet…!) I was excited to read this novel, and I of course enjoyed it!

This is one of my favourite types of novels – set in the present, and set in the past. It had a hint of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton in the writing style – two other authors I really like! I don’t want to give too much away as the synopsis is quite cryptic, but I liked how we jumped from the present day and Saskia’s story, into the diary and WW2. Again, I don’t want to give away too much, but the book felt very well-timed, considering the films which have recently been released.

This novel follows two love stories. I found the story in the diary more gripping than Saskia’s present day story. I struggled a little bit with Saskia. She suffered such a tragic event as a child, but now as an adult her life hasn’t moved on. In many ways, she reminded me of a moody teenager. Even right at the end of the novel, she was still stubborn and I found her hard work. I loved her family though. They had given everything up for her, to try and bring some normality and security into her lost childhood. I loved both her Grandad’s – they were funny and sweet. They made me miss my two Grandad’s, who are sadly not with us anymore.

Like I said, I preferred the story in the diary. I wanted to learn more about the characters and the lives they were leading during WW2. I really enjoyed the historical storyline. I was sucked in and desperate to learn more. It felt relevant and was really engaging. The story was tinged with sadness and the struggle for identity. There was an element of fear and I was hooked.

This isn’t my favourite Erica James book, but it was another novel I have enjoyed. I didn’t like this book as much as her last novel, Summer at the Lake, which is why I am only rating this book 3 out of 5. Erica James writes excellent novels, and there was a lot in this book to recommend it. There are two love stories, there is the search for identity and a study into our families and how as we strive to protect someone we can in fact trap them; and the highlight for me was the diary and the story set in WW2. This is another Erica James novel that I would recommend.

Share on Facebook

Addition: E-book, review book from Netgalley
Genre: Chick-lit, historical fiction
Published: 2014
Rating: 4 out of 5
Synopsis:

Floriana loves her job as an Oxford tour guide and thrives on the variety each day brings – one day it could be leading an Inspector Morse and Lewis tour, another day it could be a Pre-Raphaelite tour.

Her biggest failing is that she’s a habitual procrastinator and this leads her to put off telling the one true love of her life how she felt about him until it was too late. Now, out of the blue, after two years of not speaking, she receives a card from Seb announcing his forthcoming marriage.

It’s a card that sets off a chain of events that ensures life is about to change for Floriana. For if she hadn’t been so distracted by Seb’s news, she would have seen the car coming. . . And if she’d seen the car, there would have been no need for Adam Strong, a local property developer, and elderly spinster Esme Silcox to rush to her aid.

And if she hadn’t met Adam and Esme she would never have had the courage to agree to attend Seb’s wedding in beautiful Lake Como. But if she goes, can she be trusted not to leap from her seat and cry, ‘It should have been me!’?

I received this book from Netgalley to review – thank you Netgalley and Orion Publishing for letting me read and review this book.

I love Erica James. The first novel of her’s that I read was Hidden Talents, and from there she has been one of my favourite authors and I have read almost all her books (I have a couple on my TBR pile, and cannot wait to read them).

Like all Erica James novels, this book had me hooked from the beginning and did not let me down. The story follows three people: Floriana, Adam and Esme. The synopsis talks a lot about Floriana but I found that the character that stood out the most to me was Esme. Floriana is worrying as she walks home from work about that dreaded “Save the Date” card that her old friend Seb has sent her. She is so lost in thought that she steps off the pavement and in front of a car that is speeding. The car drives off and leaves Floriana on the road. Fortunately, Adam and Esme, two strangers, are on hand to rush to her aid. This opens up a new friendship for the trio and their lives become entwined. As the friendship develops, we step back in time to hear about Esme’s summer at the lake in Italy and how it completely changed her life. The story jumps between the past and the present as Esme shares her life, Adam breaks up with his girlfriend and has to move on and Floriana needs to decide, will she go to the wedding?

I really enjoyed this book. I particularly like books that are set in the past and present. This novel reminded me of books written by Kate Morton and Rachel Hore – two authors I really enjoy. I found Esme’s story captivating. I wanted to know about her time in Italy and her relationship with her father, a wonderful artist. I wanted to know how she had ended up alone in her eighties. I really liked her. She was kind and compassionate. I found it a joy reading about her life changing with these two new friends – it was like she had found hope again. Esme was the stand out character in the book for me and I really liked her. If she was real, I would like to know her!

This is a wonderful book. I saw this comment on Goodreads:
“I needed to read this now. I needed the hope.”
I think this sums up the book. It is filled with hope – the biggest being that even in your eighties you can make friends who will change your life and you don’t have to be lonely. This novel is currently rated as 4.07 out of 5 stars on Goodreads and it is easy to see why.

There is an element of predictability in this book, but I didn’t find this spoilt the read for me. What I did like was there was no cheesy epilogue. It could have been easy to add on a chapter set a year later with everyone in love living happily ever after. I was so pleased that Erica James chose to not write that.

I have rated this 4 out of 5 because it was a lovely, quick read. The descriptions were beautiful (I know want to go to Italy a lot!) I liked the characters, particularly Esme and I thought it was a brilliant storyline.

Share on Facebook

Addition: E-book
Genre: Fiction
Rating: 5 out of 5
Synopsis:

The new novel from bestselling author Rachel Hore, much loved for her stories in which past and present are grippingly entwined.When Emily Gordon, editor at a London publishing house, commissions an account of great English novelist Hugh Morton, she finds herself steering a tricky path between Morton’s formidable widow, Jacqueline, who’s determined to protect his secrets, and the biographer, charming and ambitious Joel Richards. But someone is sending Emily mysterious missives about Hugh Morton’s past and she discovers a buried story that simply has to be told…

One winter’s day in 1948, nineteen year old Isabel Barber arrives at her Aunt Penelope’s house in Earl’s Court having run away from home to follow her star. A chance meeting with an East European refugee poet leads to a job with his publisher, McKinnon & Holt, and a fascinating career beckons. But when she develops a close editorial relationship with charismatic young debut novelist Hugh Morton and the professional becomes passionately personal, not only are all her plans put to flight, but she finds herself in a struggle for her very survival.

Rachel Hore’s intriguing and suspenseful new novel magnificently evokes the milieux of London publishing past and present and connects the very different worlds of two young women, Emily and Isabel, who through their individual quests for truth, love and happiness become inextricably linked.

I loved this book. I have really enjoyed all of Rachel Hore‘s books; each of them has been highly rated. I lost my reading bug a few months ago as I have recently given birth and I was too tired and busy to read. This is the first book in a while that has captured my attention and made me long for a few minutes to myself so I can read a couple more pages.

The story follows Emily and Isabel, two women moving in the world of publishing, but many years apart. Emily is given the opportunity to oversee the publishing of a new biography of the famous author Hugh Morton. She is quickly sucked into his world, and the world of Isabel, as someone keeps leaving her extracts from Isabel’s diary. Emily is determined to see Isabel’s story told – the girl who ran away from home and entered publishing by chance. Here she fell in love with Hugh but marriage changed her. What ever became of her? And could Emily get past Hugh’s widow to let the story of Hugh’s first wife out?

I am a huge fan of Rachel Hore and get very excited every time a new novel is released. I like that she is an author who isn’t churning out more than one novel a year and that her books don’t seem samey after a while. She has a similar style to Kate Morton, another author I love reading. Hore’s books are not quite as long though! I find Hore’s novels draw me in and immediately I want to sit and read the whole thing in one go (and I would of done, if I didn’t have a baby and husband to look after!)

I instantly liked Emily and did find myself envying her job – she gets to read books all the time! I loved getting a glimpse into the world of publishing; hardcore but a lot of fun discovering now authors and talents. I found myself liking Isabel a lot too and really empathising with her throughout the novel. She had to face a lot – finding a job in a world that didn’t think women should be educated, falling in love with an older man and competing with a woman who was in love with her husband. Not only that, but she had to face post-natal depression; an illness not recognised back in the 1950’s and 1960’s. I thought all of this was dealt with very well by Hore. She addressed the issue in a sensitive manner but didn’t hide how hard it must be to suffer so soon after giving birth.

This was a well told story. Hore moves between the present day and the past seamlessly and I always knew where in the story I was. She writes really well. I often find when I am reading that the grammar in many books is appealing – things such as sentence structure are simply shocking. However, I didn’t find that with Hore. The writing drew me in, it didn’t distract me and annoy me. I loved the fact this novel isn’t “chick-lit”. It is well written fiction, with a historical twist and a romance. There is much more to the book than the latest love affair. We see life in the 1950’s; we see what the publishing world might be like then and now and we see two strong, independent women striving through life and being a success.

I have rated this book 5 out of 5 because I loved it. I loved how well it was written; I loved the story lines and the characters; but most of all I loved that this is the first book I have wanted to read in a long time and it is the book that has returned my reading bug. For me, this is easily a top rated book.

Share on Facebook

The aim for 2013 is to read 50 books.

Aim: 50
Actual: 40

January
1. Lucy Diamond – Summer With My Sister. 5/1/13. 3 out of 5
2. Enid Blyton – The Enchanted Wood 11/1/13. 5 out of 5
3. Jojo Moyes – Me Before You 12/1/13. 4 out of 5
4. Harlan Coben – Seconds Away 26/1/13. 4 out of 5

February
5. Brother Yun – The Heavenly Man. 3/2/13. 4 out of 5
6. Vanessa Greene – The Vintage Teacup Club. 18/2/13. 4 out of 5
7. Amelia Carr – The Secret She Kept. 26/2/13. 4 out of 5

March
8. Jonas Jonasson – The Hundred-Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared. 3/3/13. 3 out of 5
9. Henry James – Daisy Miller. 9/3/13. 3 out of 5
10. Erica James – The Real Katie Lavender. 17/3/13. 4 out of 5
11. David Almond – My Name is Mina. 19/3/13. 4 out of 5
12. Philippa Gregory – The Red Queen. 31/3/13. 3 out of 5

April
13. Enid Blyton – In The Fifth at Malory Towers. 1/4/13. 4 out of 5
14. A. W. Tozer – The Pursuit of God. 1/4/13. 4 out of 5
Unfinished book: Muriel Barbery – The Elegance of the Hedgehog
15. Jenny Colgan – The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris. 30/4/13. 4 out of 5

May
16. John Piper – Esther. 3/5/13. 3 out of 5
17. Kate Morton – The Secret Keeper. 10/5/13. 4 out of 5
18. Kate Mosse – The Winter Ghosts. 17/5/13. 3 out of 5
19. Belinda Bauer – Rubbernecker. 23/5/13. 4 out of 5
20. R.C. Sproul – Can I Have Joy in My Life?. 23/5/13. 4 out of 5
21. Jane Green – The Beach House. 24/5/13. 3 out of 5
22. Debbie Macomber – Starting Now. 27/5/13. 4 out of 5
23. Laila Ibrahim – Yellow Crocus. 29/5/13. 4 out of 5

June
Unfinished book: Fiona Gibson – The Great Escape
24. Max Lucado – Wild Grace: What Happens When Grace Happens. 3/6/13. 4 out of 5
25. Cecelia Ahern – The Gift. 3/6/13. 3 out of 5
Unfinished book – Katherine Webb: A Half Forgotten Song
26. Colin Dexter – The Dead of Jericho. 12/6/13. 4 out of 5
27. Amy Hill Hearth – Miss Dreamsville and the Collier County Women’s Literary Society. 14/6/13. 3 out of 5
28. Ben Elton – Popcorn. 19/6/13. 3 out of 5
Unfinished book – Lindsey Kelk: I Heart Paris
Unfinished book – Jojo Moyes: The Girl You Left Behind
Unfinished book – Meena van Praag: The House at the End of Hope Street

July
29. Carole Sparks – Sunshine With a Chance of Snow. 16/7/13. 3 out of 5
30. Richard Castle – A Brewing Storm. 17/7/13. 4 out of 5
31. Richard Castle – A Raging Storm. 18/7/13. 4 out of 5
32. Richard Castle – A Bloody Storm. 22/7/13. 4 out of 5
33. F. Scott Fitzgerald – The Great Gatsby. 26/7/13. 2 out of 5

August
34. Sarah Dessen – The Moon and More. 5/8/13. 4 out of 5
35. Sara Alexi – The Illegal Gardener. 25/8/13. 2 out of 5

September

October
36. Alan Bennett – A Life Like Other People’s. 14/10/13. 3 out of 5

November

December
37. Rachel Hore – The Silent Tide. 4/12/13. 5 out of 5
38. Linwood Barclay – The Accident. 15/12/13. 4 out of 5
39. P.G. Wodehouse – Jeeves and the Yule-tide Spirit. 29/12/13. 3 out of 5
40. David Almond – Skellig. 30/12/13. 4 out of 5

Share on Facebook

I haven’t blogged or read as much this year because in September 2010 I started a full time job so I haven’t had as much time to read and spend on the blog. In 2010 I read 126 books and in 2009 I read 145. A list of my past reading can be found here. This year, I have only read 57 – not at all bad, but not nearly as many as past years! Here are some of my favourites:

The Woods by Harlon Coben

Paul Copeland’s sister went missing twenty years ago. Now raising a daughter alone, Cope balances family life with a career as a prosecutor. But when a homicide victim is found with evidence linking him to Cope, the well-buried secrets of the past are threatening everything. Is this body one of the campers who disappeared with his sister? Could his sister be alive…? Confronting his past, Cope must decide what is better left hidden in the dark and what truths can be brought to light…

I really enjoyed this thriller – was happy to give it 5 out of 5.

The Distant Hours by Kate Morton

A long lost letter arrives in the post and Edie Burchill finds herself on a journey to Milderhurst Castle, a great but moldering old house, where the Blythe spinsters live and where her mother was billeted 50 years before as a 13 year old child during WWII. The elder Blythe sisters are twins and have spent most of their lives looking after the third and youngest sister, Juniper, who hasn’t been the same since her fiance jilted her in 1941.

Inside the decaying castle, Edie begins to unravel her mother’s past. But there are other secrets hidden in the stones of Milderhurst, and Edie is about to learn more than she expected. The truth of what happened in ‘the distant hours’ of the past has been waiting a long time for someone to find it.

Morton once again enthralls readers with an atmospheric story featuring unforgettable characters beset by love and circumstance and haunted by memory, that reminds us of the rich power of storytelling

My review of this book is to come, but this was a gripping historical novel. It was long but very enjoyable. It was easy to give it 5/5.

The Summer House by Mary Nichols

A secret love that will haunt a family for ever England 1918. Lady Helen believes her parents when they say she will never find a better husband than Richard, but when he returns to the Front, she begins to wonder just who it is she has married. His letters home are cold and distant – and Helen realises that she has made a terrible mistake. Then Oliver Donovan enters her life and they begin an affair that leaves Helen pregnant and alone – she is forced to surrender her precious baby. Over twenty years pass and a second war is ravaging Europe, but that is not the only echo of the past to haunt the present. Laura Drummond is caught in a tragic love affair of her own and when she is forced to leave London during the Blitz, she turns to the mother she never knew.

This is another historical fiction novel that I really enjoyed! Set during both World Wars it follows two women who get caught in love affairs and fall pregnant, both outside of marriage. What they don’t realise is they are mother and daughter! I haven’t written this review yet but it will be rated 5/5 as I really enjoyed it!

The Glass Painters Daughter by Rachel Hore

A wonderful novel set in a hidden part of Westminster, steeped in the Victorian past, full of gothic churches and secret garden squares…

I was surprised I enjoyed this as much as I did. I really enjoy Rachel Hore novels but I’ve never rated any of them 5/5 until this one! The book is set in London, both in our time and in Victorian times, following the fortunes of one family and one shop. This is another historical novel and also a romance novel, and I loved it! Review is to come.

God Knows my Name by Beth Redman

In this powerful and deeply vulnerable book, Beth Redman writes to pass along a message that changed her life—that the God who made us also understands us intimately. He hears our cries and reaches out in love to help us and fight for us. He’s always at work shaping our character. And no matter what others do, He will never, ever leave or forget us. Drawing on Scripture and her own experience, Redman invites us to explore the revolutionary implications of being loved by a God who knows our name. And she invites us to call on His name as well—to respond to His heart and love Him as He has loved us from the beginning.

This book was given to me as a gift and I found it so helpful. I was facing something tough and this book was clear and helpful and let me see God and be comforted that He knows me and is looking out for me.I’m thankful for this present and can’t rate this book highly enough. The review is to come but I can easily rate this 5/5.

Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan

Ever dreamed of starting over?

Issy Randall can bake. No, more than that – Issy can create stunning, mouth-wateringly divine cakes. After a childhood spent in her beloved Grampa Joe’s bakery she has undoubtedly inherited his talent. So when she’s made redundant from her safe but dull City job, Issy decides to seize the moment and open up her own café. It should be a piece of cake, right?

Wrong. As her friends point out, she has trouble remembering where she left her house keys, let alone trying to run her own business. But Issy is determined. Armed with recipes posted to her from Grampa, and with her local bank manager fighting her corner, Issy attempts to prove everyone wrong. Following your dreams is never easy and this is no exception. Can Issy do it?

This is the first Jenny Colgan novel I have read and I loved it! I was drawn by the cover and the title and very glad I took this out the library. The book had a great storyline and it had recipes – bonus! The review is to come but it will be glowing – I really enjoyed this book. Another 5/5!

Share on Facebook

2012

Total: 73

January
1. Sophie Kinsella: Six Geese A-Laying (1st Jan) 3/5free Amazon e-book
2. Tracy Marchini: Effie at the Wedding (1st Jan) 3/5free Amazon e-book
3. Katie Fforde: A Perfect Proposal (2nd Jan) 4/5Kindle edition
4. Jill Mansell: To The Moon and Back (8th Jan) 4/5Kindle edition
5. Cecelia Ahern: The Girl in the Mirror (14th Jan) 2/5Library book
6. Amanda Hocking: Switched (22nd Jan) 4/5Review book, paperback
7. Author Unknown: You Are Loved (24th Jan) 4/5Review book, Netgalley e-book
8. Max Lucado: This is Love (28th Jan) 4/5Review book, Netgalley e-book

February
9. Katie Fforde: The Undercover Cook (4th Feb) 3/5Kindle edition
10. George Elliott: Silas Marner (6th Feb) 3/5Classic, Kindle edition
11. Kristin Alexandre: Nuncio and The Gypsy Girl (6th Feb) 2/5Review, e-book
12. Terry Pratchett: Snuff (8th Feb) 4/5Audiobook
13. F. Scott Fitzgerald: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (9th Feb) 3/5E-book
14. Mikkel Birkegaard: The Library of Shadows (12th Feb) 4/5Paperback
15. Michael Morpurgo: War Horse (25th Feb) 4/5Paperback
16. Karen Kingsbury: Take One (26th Feb) 4/5Paperback

March
17. Amanda Hocking: Torn (4th March) 4/5 – Review book, paperback
18. Karen Kingsbury: Take Two (9th March) 4/5Paperback
19. Marilee Brothers: Moonstone (16th March) 3/5Review book, Netgalley e-book
20. Shannon Greenland: The Summer My Life Began (18th March) 3/5 Review book, Netgalley e-book
21. Natalie Kath: The Summer I Lost It (22nd March) 3/5Review book, Netgalley e-book
22. Marliee Brothers: Moon Rise (23rd March) 4/5Review book, Netgalley e-book
23. Karen Kingsbury: Take Three (25th March) 4/5Paperback

April
24. Jill Mansell: An Offer You Can’t Refuse (1st April) 3/5Paperback
25. Christina Lamb: The Africa House (12th April) 2/5Paperback, book club read
26. Sue Miller: The Senator’s Wife (14th April) 3/5Paperback
27. Billy Graham: The Heaven Answer Book (15th April) 3/5Review book, Netgalley e-book
28. Stormie Omartian: The Power of a Praying Wife (18th April) 4/5Review book, Netgalley e-book
26. Melissa C. Walker: Unbreak My Heart (30th April) 4/5Review book, Netgalley e-book

May
30. Kristina McBride: One Moment (4th May) 4/5Review book, Netgalley e-book
31. Rosy Thornton: The Tapestry of Love (5th May) 3/5Review book, paperback
32. Michael Morpurgo: Farm Boy (16th May) 4/5Paperback
33. Michael Morpurgo: The Dancing Bear (17th May) 3/5Paperback
34. Kathryn Stockett: The Help (20th May) 5/5Paperback
35. Amanda Hocking: Ascend (21st May) 3/5Library book
36. Lucy Diamond: The Beach Cafe (25th May) 4/5Library book
37. Richard Bach: Jonathon Livingston Seagull (26th May) strongPaperback, book club read

June
38. Jonathan Prime: Opening Up Ruth (2nd June) 4 out of 5Christian, e-book
39. Rachel Hore: The Dream House (7th June) 4 out of 5Paperback
40. Jenny Downham: Before I Die (8th June) 3 out of 5Paperback
41. Khaled Hosseini: The Kite Runner (17th June) 3 out of 5Paperback
42. Karen Kingsbury: Take Four (21st June) 3 out of 5Paperback
43. Jenny Colgan: Welcome to Rosie Hopkin’s Sweetshop of Dreams (23rd June) 4 out of 5Library book

July
44. Lucinda Riley: The Girl on the Cliff (1st July) 4 out of 5Library book
45. Enid Blyton: The First Term at Malory Towers (11th July) 4 out of 5Paperback
46. Gregory Maguire: Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (23rd July) 3 out of 5Paperback, book club read
47. Amelia Carr: A Song at Sunset (29th July) 4 out of 5Library book
48. Eliza Graham: Jubilee (31st July) 4 out of 5Library book

August
49. Jodi Picoult: Handle With Care (5th August) 4 out of 5Paperback, book club read
50. Debbie Macomber: Summer in Orchard Valley (12th August) 4 out of 5Library bookTARGET REACHED!!!!
51. Victoria Hislop: The Thread (19th August) 3 out of 5Library book
52. Allan Jones: Codename Quicksilver (19th August) 3 out of 5Review book, paperback
53. Harper Lee: To Kill a Mockingbird (24th August) 5 out of 5Paperback, book club read
54. Veronica Roth: Divergent (26th August) 4 out of 5Paperback, book club read
55. Karen Kingsbury: The Bridge (26th August) 4 out of 5Review book, Netgalley e-book
56. Enid Blyton: Second Form at Malory Towers (27th August) 4 out of 5Paperback

September
57. Mitch Albom: The Time Keeper (1st September) 3 out of 5Review book, Netgalley e-book
58. Veronica Roth: Insurgent (2nd September) 4 out of 5Paperback, book club read
59. Karen Kingsbury: Oceans Apart (11th September) 3 out of 5Paperback
60. Suzanne Collins: The Hunger Games (17th September) 4 out of 5E-book
61. Katy Hollway: The Times of Kerim (22nd September) 4 out of 4Review book, paperback
62. Enid Blyton: Third Term at Malory Towers (23rd September) 4 out of 5Paperback
63. Suzanne Collins: Catching Fire (29th September) 4 out of 5Paperback
64. John Steinback: Of Mice and Men (29th September) 3 out of 5Paperback

October
65. Suzanne Collins: Mockingjay (1st October) 4 out of 5Paperback
66. Richard Castle: Heatwave (8th October) 4 out of 5E-book

November
67. Sarah Dessen: What Happened To Goodbye? (11th November) 4 out of 5E-book
68. Philippa Pearce: Tom’s Midnight Garden (18th November) 5 out of 5Paperback
69. Eric Wilson: Facing the Giants (25th November) 3 out of 5Paperback

December
70. Enid Blyton: Upper Fourth at Malory Towers (17th December) 4 out of 5Paperback
71. Katie Fforde: Summer of Love (17th December) 4 out of 5Paperback
72. Jill Mansell: Mixed Doubles (24th December) 3 out of 5Paperback
73. Nicholas Sparks: The Lucky One (27th December) 4 out of 5Paperback

Unfinished Books:
– Sarah Winmam: When God Was a Rabbit (March)
– Richard Segal: Cookbook for a New Europe (April)
– Freya North: Rumour Has It (August)

2011

Total: 57

January
1. Jill Mansell: Take A Chance On Me (1st Jan) 4/5
2. J. J. Johnson: This Girl is Different (10th Jan) 4/5
3. Elizabeth Noble: The Way We Were (24th Jan) 4/5
4. Sophie Kinsella: Remember Me? (28th Jan) 3/5
5. Larry Peterson: Slippery Willie’s Stupid, Ugly Shoes (28th Jan) 4/5
6. Debbie Macomber: Knitting Diaries (29th Jan) 4/5

February
7. Rachel Hore: A Place of Secrets (10th Feb) 4/5
8. Jeanne-Marie Le Prince de Beaumont: Beauty and the Beast (11th Feb) 4/5
9. Debbie Macomber: Marriage of Inconvenience (12th Feb) 3/5
10. Louis Sachar: Holes (20th Feb) 4/5
11. A. A. Milne: When We Were Very Young and Now We Are Six (24th Feb) 4/5
12. Kristan Higgans: My One and Only (27th Feb) 3/5

March
13. Audrey Penn: The Kissing Hand (23rd March) 4/5
14. Audrey Penn: A Pocket Full of Kisses (23rd March) 4/5
15. Audrey Penn: A Kiss Goodbye (23rd March) 4/5
16. Audrey Penn: A Bedtime Kiss for Chester Racoon (23rd March) 3/5
17. Terry Pratchett: Making Money (26th March) 4/5
18. Deborah Bruss: Big Box for Ben (28th March) 4/5
19. Paul Cotes: Tim and the Iceberg (28th March) 3/5
20. E. D. Walker: The Beauty’s Beast (29th March) 4/5
21. Audrey Penn Chester Raccoon and the Big Bad Bully (29th March) 4/5
22. Ginger Churchill: Wild Rose’s Weaving (29th March) 3/5

April
23. Jackie Morse Kessler: Rage (2nd April) 4/5
24. Debbie Macomber: Stand-in Wife (13th April) 3/5
25. Danny Scheinmann: Random Acts of Heroic Love (20th April) 3/5
26. Harlon Coben: The Woods (30th April) 5/5

May
27. Jane Green: The Love Verb (3rd May) 4/5
28. Anita Shreve: A Change in Altitude (11th May) 3/5
29. Katie Fford: Love Letters (14th May) 4/5
30. Neil Gaiman: Coraline (18th May) 4/5
31. Michelle Gayle: Pride and Premiership (20th May) 3/5
32. Debbie Macomber: Hannah’s List (22nd May) 4/5
33. Alan Parry: Look For The Rainbow (28th May) 4/5
34. Chelsy Day & Pepper O’Neal: Love Transposed (30th May) 3/5

June
35. Debbie Macomber: Turn in the Road (5th June) 4/5
36. Noel Piper: Most of all Jesus Loves You (10th June) 4/5
37: Linda Crosland: Butterfly Promises (21st June) 3/5
38. Debbie Macomber: 6 Rainier Drive (28th June) 4/5

July
39. Jennifer Lynn Jones: Faith and the Camp Snob (13th July) 2/5
40. Louise May Alcott: Kate’s Choice (15th July) 3/5
42. Julie Kagawa: The Iron Knight (16th July) 4/5
43. Kate Morton: The Distant Hours (20th July) 5/5
44. Jane Green: Got You Back (29th July) 3/5

August
45. Brooke Moss: The What-If Guy (5th August) 4/5
46. Mary Nichols: The Summer House (9th August) 5/5
47. Emma Donoghue: Room (20th August) 4/5

September
48. Rachel Hore: The Glass Painter’s Daughter (4th September) 5/5
49. Beth Redman: God Knows My Name (4th September) 5/5
50. Terry Pratchett: Unseen Academicals (11th September) 4/5

October
51. Lindsey Kelk: I Heart New York (2nd October) 3/5
52. Terry Pratchett: I Shall Wear Midnight (15th October) 4/5
53. Jenny Colgan: Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe (26th October) 5/5

November
54. Lindsey Kelk: I Heart Hollywood (17th November) 3/5
55. Jeff Kinney: Diary of a Wimpy Kid (27th November) 4/5

December
56. Rachel Hore: A Gathering Storm (7th December) 4/5
57. Donna Tartt: The Secret History (30th December) 4/5

2010

Total: 126

January
1. Terry Pratchett: The Truth
2. Terry Pratchett: The Last Hero
3. Toby Litt: Beatnix
4. Emily Bronte: Agnes Grey
5. Katy Gardner: The Mermaid’s Purse
6. Val Andrews: Sherlock Holmes and the Brighton Pavilion Mystery
7. Nora Roberts: Dream Makers
8. Adeline Yen Mah: Chinese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society
9. Robert Swindells: Snapshot

February
10.Amanda Grange: Lord Deverill’s Secret
11. Terry Pratchett: The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents
12. Kate Morton: The Forgotten Garden
13. Elisabeth Hyde: In The Heart of the Canyon
14. Charlaine Harris: Grave Secret

March
15. Sheila O’Flanagan: Yours, Faithfully
16. Mark Twain: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
17. Frances Hodgson Burnett: The Secret Garden
18. Kader Abdolah: My Father’s Notebook
19. Emily Bronte: Wuthering Heights
20. Miriam Toews: A Complicated Kindness
21. Roald Dahl: Esio Trot
22. Roald Dahl: The Magic Finger
23. Roald Dahl: The Giraffe, The Pelly and Me
24. Kathleen Kent: The Heretic’s Daughter
25. A. A. Milne: The Complete Winnie the Pooh
26. Jerome K. Jerome: Three Men in a Boat (to say nothing of the dog)

April
27. L. Frank Baum: The Wizard of Oz
28. Roald Dahl: George’s Marvellous Medicine
29. Terry Pratchett: Night Watch
30. Sheila O’Flanagan: Maggie’s Story
31. Terry Pratchett: Thief of Time
32. Wendy Virgo: The Prophetess
33. Frances Hodgson Burnett: The Little Princess
34. Aravind Adiga: The White Tiger
35. Susan Coolidge: What Katy Did
36. Philippa Gregory: The White Queen
37. Sharon Owens: The Revenge of the Wedding Planner

May
38. John Piper: Fifty Reasons Why Jesus Came to Save
39. Sarah Dessen: Just Listen
40. Vikas Swarup: Q & A
41. Nicholas Sparks: The Choice
42. Jessica Green: The Diary of a Would-Be Princess
43. Terry Pratchett: The Wee Free Men
44. Dorothy Koomson: The Ice-Cream Girls
45. Neil Gaimon: Stardust
46. Mary Naylus: The Dresskeeper
47. Erica James: The Queen of New Beginnings
48. Sarah Dessen: The Truth About Forever

June
49. Nicholas Sparks: The Last Song
50. Terry Pratchett: Monstrous Regiment
51. Nicholas Sparks: The Wedding
52. Meg Cabot: Size 12 is Not Fat
53. Nick Hornby: The Complete Polysyllabic Spree
54. Alice Hoffman: Incantation
55. Wendy Virgo: Life Issues
56. Stephenie Meyer: The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner
57. Voltaire: Candide
58. Sarah Dessen: Lock and Key
59. Sylvia Plath: The Bell Jar
60. Terry Pratchett: A Hat Full of Sky
61. Kate Harrison: Old School Ties
62. Debbie Macomber: 44 Cranberry Point
63. Matt Beaumont: E
64. Judy Blume: Forever
65. Rachel Hore: The Memory Garden
66. Elizabeth Noble: The Girl Next door

July
67. Debbie Macomber: 50 Harbour Street
68. Melanie Ray: The Great Destruction Book 1
69. Terry Pratchett: Going Postal
70. Arthur Conan Doyle: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
71. Lewis Carroll: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
72. Nick Hornby: About a Boy
73. Allison van Diepen: The Oracle of Dating
74. James Patterson: Maximum Ride #1: The Angel Experiment
75. Sarah Dessen: Along For The Ride
76. L. K. Madisan: The Mermaid’s Mirror
77. Francine Rivers: Redeeming Love
78. Andrew Oberg: Randolph’s One Bedroom
79. Stephen Chobsky: The Perks of Being a Wallflower
80. Sarah Dessen: Last Chance
81. John Connolly: The Book of Lost Things
82. Lyn Andrews: A Daughter’s Journey
83. Jim Beavis: The Brighton Races
84. Jane Green: Second Chance

August
85. Jandy Nelson: The Sky is Everywhere
86. Iain McGowen: The Spirit of Brighton and Hove
87. John Huddlestone: The Brighton Story
88. Sarah Dessen: That Summer
89. James S. Gray: Brighton: Between The Wars
90. Julie Kagawa: The Iron King
91. Mary Julia Young: A Summer at Brighton
92. Julie Kagawa: The Winter Passage
93. H. M. Moriarty: Brighton in an Uproar
94. Sebastian Fitzek: Therapy
95. Dorothy Koomson: Goodnight, Beautiful
96. Jane Eagland: Wildthorn
97. Catherine Chisnell: Descending
98. Julie Kagawa: The Iron Daughter
99. Julie Crabtree: The Crepe Makers’ Bond
100. Max Lucado: A Cast of Characters – book 100!
101. Mathias Malzieu: The Boy with the Cuckoo-Clock Heart

September
102. Terry Pratchett: Thud!
103. Alison van Diepen: The Oracle Rebounds
104. Neil Gaiman: The Graveyard Book
105. Jack Hywel-Davies: Baptised by Fire
106. Lindsay Faith Rech: It Started With a Dare
107. Nicholas Sparks: Dear John
108. Andrew Wilson: GodStories
109. E. M. Forster: A Room With a View

October

110. Bill Hybels: To Busy Not to Pray
111. Roald Dahl: James and the Giant Peach
112. Terry Virgo: God’s Lavish Grace

November

113. Terry Pratchett: Wintersmith
114. Noel Piper: Do You Want a Friend?
115. Eleanor H. Porter: Pollyanna
116. Sarah Dessen: Someone Like You
117. Julie Kagawa: The Iron Queen
118. Jackie Morse Kessler: Hunger
119. Katie Fford: Practically Perfect
120. Ben Elton: Meltdown
121. Katherine Howe: The Lost Book of Salem
122. Philip K. Dick: The Father Thing

December
123. Amy Holder: The Lipstick Laws
124. Nicholas Sparks: Safe Haven
125. Rob Parsons: What They Didn’t Teach Me in Sunday School
126. Karen Hart: Butterflies in May

2009

Total: 145

January
Nicholas Sparks: The Notebook 1/1/2009
Joyce Meyer: The Power of Simple Prayer 7/1/2009
Jennifer Lauck: Blackbird 8/1/2009
Thomas Hardy: Far From the Madding Crowd 11/1/2009
Darlene Zschech: The Kiss of Heaven 11/1/2009
Cecelia Ahern: Where Rainbows End 14/1/2009
Terry Pratchett: Equal Rites 15/01/2009
Sophie Kinsella: Confessions of a Shopaholic 17/01/2009
Terry Pratchett: Mort 19/01/2009
Don Piper: Heaven is Real 20/01/2009
Terry Pratchett: Sourcery 22/01/2009
Elizabeth Noble: Alphabet Weekends 25/01/2009
Jane Austen: Lady Susan 27/01/2009
Linda Gillard: Emotional Geology 28/01/2009

February
Elizabeth Noble: Things I Want My Daughter’s To Know 2/02/2009
Marian Keyes: This Charming Man 3/02/2009
Debbie Macomber: Back on Blossom Street 8/02/2009
John Bunyan: The Pilgrim’s Progress 11/02/2009
Terry Pratchett: Wyrd Sister’s 13/02/2009
Harriet Evans: Going Home 17/02/2009
Tam Dalyell: One Man’s Falklands 19/02/2009
Clemency Burton-Hill: The Other Side of the Stars 21/02/2009
Kate Harrison: The Secret Shopper’s Revenge 24/02/2009
Terry Pratchett: Pyramids 24/02/2009
Tim Keegan: Facing the Storm 24/02/2009
J. K. Rowling: The Tales of Beedle the Bard 26/02/2009
Sophie Kinsella: Shopaholic Abroad 28/02/2009

March
Nathaniel Hawthorne: The Scarlet Letter 3/03/2009
Nora Roberts: Blue Smoke 4/03/2009
J. D. Salinger: The Catcher in the Rye 6/03/2009
Terry Pratchett: Guards! Guards! 6/03/2009
Sophie Kinsella: Can You Keep a Secret? 9/03/2009
Stephenie Meyer: Twilight 11/03/2009
J. M. Barrie: Peter Pan 14/03/2009
Stephenie Meyer: New Moon 14/03/2009
Alice Kuipers: Life on the Refrigerator Door 16/03/2009
Stephenie Meyer: Eclipse 17/03/2009
Debbie Macomber: The Shop on Blossom Street 17/03/2009
Philippa Gregory: The Constant Princess 22/03/2009
C.S. Lewis: The Horse and His Boy 23/03/2009
Terry Pratchett: Eric 25/03/2009
Stephenie Meyer: Breaking Dawn 30/03/2009

April
C.S. Lewis: Prince Caspian 03/04/2009
Eleanor Moran: Stick or Twist 04/04/2009
Terry Pratchett: Moving Pictures 05/04/2009
Debbie Macomber: A Good Yarn 07/04/2009
Terry Pratchett: Reaper Man 10/04/2009
C.S. Lewis: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader 11/04/2009
Dorothy Koomson: My Best Friend’s Girl 16/04/2009
Sophie Kinsella: Shopaholic Ties the Knot 20/04/2009
Ginni Otto: Walking With God 22/04/2009
Edward Marston: Murder on the Brighton Express 24/04/2009
Charlaine Harris: Grave Sight 27/04/2009
Terry Pratchett: Witches Abroad 29/04/2009

May
Valerie King: A Brighton Flirtation 01/05/2009
Charlaine Harris: Grave Surprise 03/05/2009
Debbie Macomber: Thursdays at Eight 05/05/2009
Terry Pratchett: Small Gods 10/05/2009
Val Biro: Gumdrop on the Brighton Run 11/05/2009
W. H. Ainsworth: Old Court Volume 1 15/05/2009
Charlaine Harris: An Ice Cold Grave 17/05/2009
Tim Keller: The Prodigal God 17/05/2009
Kathy Reichs: Bones to Ashes 19/05/2009
Charlaine Harris: Dead Until Dark 24/05/2009
Mitch Albom: For One More Day 27/05/2009

June
Graham Greene: Brighton Rock 01/06/2009
Linwood Barclay: No Time for Goodbye 01/06/2009
Maria Espinosa: Dying Unfinished 05/06/2009
Glen Chandler: Savage Tide 11/06/2009
Charlaine Harris: Living Dead in Dallas 11/06/2009
Elizabeth Noble: The Tenko Club 12/06/2009
Terry Pratchett: Lords and Ladies 13/06/2009
Kate Jacobs: Knit Two 14/06/2009
Sharon Owens: The Teahouse on Mulberry Street 19/06/2009
Jill Mansell: Head Over Heels 22/06/2009
Elizabeth Mahlou: Blest Atheist 28/06/2009

July
Simon van Booy: Love Begins in Winter 1/07/2009
Elizabeth Garner: The Ingenious Edgar Jones 10/07/2009
Patience Swift: The Last Good Man 10/07/2009
Jennifer Laurens: Heavenly 14/07/2009
Angela Young: Speaking of Love 18/07/2009
Terry Pratchett: Men at Arms 22/07/2009
H. G. Wells: The Time Machine 23/07/2009
Robert Louis Stevenson: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde 25/07/2009
Dorothy Koomson: The Chocolate Run 28/07/2009
Bernhard Schlink: The Reader 30/07/2009
Mitch Albom: The Five People You Meet in Heaven 31/07/2009

August
Emma Tennant: Pemberley 06/08/2009
Lisa Jewell: 31 Dream Street 11/08/2009
Cecelia Ahern: PS I Love You 19/08/2009
Sophie Kinsella: The Undomestic Goddess 23/08/2009
Zoe Heller: Notes on a Scandal 26/08/2009
Wilkie Collins: The Moonstone 28/08/2009

September
Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society 01/09/2009
Peggy Elliott: A Small Part of History 07/09/2009
Mark Driscoll: The Radical Reformission 07/09/2009
Kate Mosse: The Cave
Joyce Meyer: Expect a Move of God…Suddenly 09/09/2009
Janice Y. K. Lee:The Piano Teacher 10/09/2009
Terry Pratchett: Interesting Times 11/09/2009 – book 100 in 2009!!!
Terry Pratchett:Maskerade 16/09/2009
Dorothy Koomson:Marshmallows for Breakfast 18/09/2009
Sue Eckstein:The Cloths of Heaven 22/09/2009
C. S. Lewis: The Silver Chair 24/09/2009
Harlan Coben:Hold Tight 29/09/2009
C. S. Lewis:The Last Battle 30/09/2009

October
Cornelia Funke: Inkheart 02/10/2009
Debbie Macomber: Twenty Wishes 02/10/2009
Kate Jacobs: Comfort Food 04/10/2009
Sophie Kinsella: Shopaholic and Baby 09/10/2009
Julia Gregson: East of the Sun 12/10/2009
Jonathon Tropper: How to Talk to a Widower 13/10/2009
Terry Pratchett: Feet of Clay 17/10/2009
Jill Mansell: Rumour Has It 20/10/2009
Debbie Macomber: Summer on Blossom Street 26/10/2009
Mitch Albom: Tuesdays with Morrie 28/10/2009
Eva Rice: The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets 30/10/2009

November
Debbie Macomber: 16 Lighthouse Road 02/11/2009
Erica James: It’s The Little Things 03/11/2009
Khaled Hosseini: A Thousand Splendid Suns 05/11/2009
Lola Jaye: By The Time You Read This 08/11/2009
Wendy Virgo: Influential Women 12/11/2009
Debbie Macomber: Old Boyfriends 16/11/2009
Terry Pratchett: Jingo 18/11/2009
Terry Pratchett: The Last Continent 23/11/2009
Sheila O’Flanagan: Destinations 23/11/2009
Terry Pratchett: Carpe Jugulum 26/11/2009
Debbie Macomber: 204 Rosewood Lane 26/11/2009
Debbie Macomber: 411 Pelican Court 30/11/2009
Richard Sickelmore: History of Brighton and its environs 30/11/2009

December
Rose Collis: Boozy Brighton 01/12/2009
Janet Cameron: Brighton and Hove Murders and Misdemeanours 03/12/2009
Terry Pratchett: The Fifth Elephant 04/12/2009
John Grisham: Skipping Christmas 06/12/2009
Charles Dickens: The Chimes 08/12/2009
Brighton: Holidays at Brighton 09/12/2009
Joanna Trollope: Second Honeymoon 09/12/2009
Terry Pratchett: The Hogfather 11/12/2009
C. S. Lewis: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe 12/12/2009
Mariam Toews: The Flying Troutmans 14/12/2009
Cecelia Ahern: If You Could See Me Now 17/12/2009
Richard Anderson: The Wonderful Adventure of Uncle Wizard 18/12/2009
Debbie Macomber: Christmas in Seattle 20/12/2009
Honore de Balzac: Vendetta 23/12/2009
Terry Pratchett: Soul Music 31/12/2009

Share on Facebook

I’ve been lucky this year and read many books that I have just loved. These are my favourite books of the year:

  • A Little Princess by Francis Hodgson Burnett
  • The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
  • Night Watch by Terry Pratchett
  • The Complete Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne
  • Just Listen by Sarah Dessen
  • The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton
  • Soul Music by Terry Pratchett
  • The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis
  • Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
  • The Ice Cream Girls by Dorothy Koomson
  • The Choice by Nicholas Sparks
  • The White Queen by Philippa Gregory
  • The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks
  • The Great Destruction Book 1 by Melanie Ray
  • The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly
  • Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers
  • Along For The Ride by Sarah Dessen
  • The Iron Fey Series (all 3 books) by Julie Kagawa
  • Last Chance by Sarah Dessen
  • Maximum Ride by James Patterson
  • The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
  • Dear John by Nicholas Sparks
  • The Memory Garden by Rachel Hore
  • The Queen of New Beginnings by Erica James
  • Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks
  • Therapy by Sebastian Fitzek
Share on Facebook